2nd Annual Classics Club Readathon!

ccreadathon2

Due to popular demand, we are bringing back our New Year’s Readathon!  This year’s readathon will fall on Saturday, January 4th, which is quite convenient as the current Classics Club Spin deadline is January 1st; this means you’ll be able to start a new Classics Club pick for the new year!  Convenient, no?

Details:

A 24-hour readathon in the beginning of January to jump-start the new year!

The second (annual) “Classics Club Readathon” will be taking place on January 4th, 2013. We wanted to pick a date that would help ring in the new year and all that excitement of tackling reading lists and conquering classics.

We will be following the same timezone rules as the 24-Hour Readathon, with a kick-off post debuting at 8am EST here on the blog. We will be reading for 24 hours after that! We’re hoping this will inspire you to knock a classic or two off your challenge list!

To sign up, fill in the Mister Linky below. We’d appreciate it if you spread the word (through a post on your blog or on twitter) so we can get as many participants as possible! We all look forward to reading with you on the 4th!

33 thoughts on “2nd Annual Classics Club Readathon!

  1. I’m getting ready for the readathon and trying to figure out whether to start Mahfouz’s Palace Walk or Mann’s Magic Mountain. Any advice?

    Like

  2. This sounds like so much fun! Sadly, my out of town company leaves that day, so I’ll be saying goodbye to them and making airport runs. I will totally keep an eye out for next year’s, though 🙂

    Like

  3. I loved the first readathon, & was very excited to see this post…but when I saw the date, my reaction changed to “oh no! We’re going to an afternoon wedding on the 4th! I can’t do this!”

    But then – ah ha!
    I’m in Australia….several time zones away from most of you…I could read all day Sunday (here – if I’m not too hungover!) and still be sharing Saturday with many of you (over there!)
    Problem solved 🙂

    Like

  4. I wish I could participate, but it will have to wait until the kids are older. But I’ve decided to start reading Matilda to them on that day. Let’s see who lasts longer: me reading or them listening…

    Like

    1. When I did the readathon last year I did both: I picked 2 short books (a play and a kid’s classic) and a doorstop (Woman in White) to read that day with the goal of all of the short ones and starting the doorstop, it worked well as it gave me options and the books were different enough to not get mixed up.

      Like

  5. Whoot whoot! I’ll be signing up! I’ll be polishing off Middlemarch probably. If I make my goal of finishing Middlemarch by 12/31 then I’ll work on The Woman in White for Wilkie in Winter. I love this idea!

    Like

  6. ha! the first classic on my list for the year is Don Quixote! I won’t be getting more that a couple hundred pages at the most done in that 24 hours (if that!). Someday I hope to be able to take part in a readathon! Good luck everyone!

    Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.