Group Check-In #7 – December 2013

What is this? Click to find out.

Hi Clubbers! How’s the reading going? Check in with the group below!

Tell us about your project — or you! Introduce yourself. Chat.

Tell us what you’ve read, how you’re feeling about your progress, how much you love the classics or the community — any struggles, a favorite read so far. Really, whatever you feel like sharing!

Some people prefer writing an update at their own blog and linking it here in the comments. That’s fine, too.

Feel free to respond to one another in the comments below — ask questions, visit each other, tell us you are new to the club, planning to join the club — etc. This is a meet and greet.

If you’re having trouble with your list and need encouragement, say that! That’s understandable. We want new classics readers to join us, so there’s nothing wrong with arriving to this thread with all of the newness showing!

(Please also note the “check-in” feature here is entirely voluntarily, intended for those who like weighing in with others in the group, and having a periodic place to reflect upon goals for the club. For some this feature would feel like an unwanted intrusion. Silent participation in this group is of course welcome!)

Thanks for all of your enthusiasm about this project!

New? Introduce yourself to the group on Twitter using hashtag #ccintroductions @ourclassicsclub. You can also introduce yourself here at the blog. ๐Ÿ™‚


Twitter hashtag for reading check-ins: #ccreadingupdate

Note that if you’re on Twitter, you can also tweet your latest classic book reviews to the group using hashtag #ccbookreviews.

17 thoughts on “Group Check-In #7 – December 2013

  1. I haven’t read a lot of classics lately because my fall was taken up with graduate school — but I finished The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and wrote not one but two reviews. It’s hard to do a book like that justice but I’m glad I read it.

    Like

  2. I just finished Joyce’s “Dubliners” the other day; Counterparts and The Dead were utterly fantastic.
    Also read “The Phantom of the Opera” at a request from a friend and was not disappointed!

    Like

  3. After not having touched my Classics list in months… I’ve successfully completed 3 of them since the beginning of December! I read Tolkien’s “Silmarillion”, Dickens’ “A Christmas Carol”, and Andersen’s “Fairy Tales”. I loved all of them, but “A Christmas Carol” was definitely my favorite!! I’m hoping to read at least one more before 2013 draws to a close. Maybe I’ll read my spin pick from back in the summer that I never finished (“Wives and Daughters”).

    Oh and Merry Christmas everyone!

    Like

  4. I’m still doing my reading of classic short stories (2-3 a week) and discovering some long lost authors like Vincent O’Sullivan. Nobody reads his work any more. I very much liked his “When I was Dead,” a quiet horror story. Last week I read Balzac’s “Mysterious Mansion.” Wow, this was very exciting with a chilling ending. In October I went on a search for women authors and found Margaret Oliphant “The Secret Chamber.” And Mary Wilkins Freeman’s “The Little Maid at the door” about witchcraft!

    Like

  5. I finished my Classics Spin late last week. I’m hoping to finish L’Assommoir and Dracula before year’s end. I got Hyperbole and a Half as present for a friend, and I think I might have to read that real quick before it leaves my hands. It’s hilarious.

    Like

  6. I finished my Spin title, Far From the Madding Crowd, and that was quite good. I re-read Persuasion because I love Persuasion! Right now I’m reading a great book that isn’t on my CC list, but I think it counts as a forgotten classic of historical fiction–it’s The Long Ships, all about Vikings. The author really gives a wonderful picture of Biking life in 1000 AD–not that I would know from experience, but I think he really got how Vikings thought. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. I am really trying to finish up well for the year. I’m getting toward the end of War and Peace, have started “His Excellency, Eugene Rougon yet have stalled a little on David Copperfield. I’m hoping that with the Christmas season, the slowing down of regular activities will give me more time to read. I don’t want to feel behind when the year ends because I have a busy January ahead of me.

    Like

  8. At the moment, I’m in the middle of two classic club reads: ‘Pride and Prejudice’ and ‘A Study in Scarlet’. So far I’ve only completed one classics club rad, ‘The Scarlet Letter’, so I’m a little disappointed with how slow I’m going. Still, I’m loving this community and can’t wait to contribute more!

    ~Gillian
    youngyankeelady.blogspot.com

    Like

  9. Just this morning, I posted a mid-month check-in for my reading of Ulysses.

    http://imperfecthappiness.wordpress.com/2013/12/15/sisters-book-club-mid-month-check-in-ulysses/

    I’m also reading St. Augustine’s City of God for the Classics Spin this month, and I’m about 1/3 of the way through that (and abridged version, not the full thing). They’re both more interesting and less confusing than I was worried they would be.

    My progress on my classics list has been hampered a bit this year since it took me a few months to finish Hume’s The History of England, Volume V. I feel back in the game now, though, and hope to do 1-2 classics per month for 2014. The link to my full list is on my blog, too, called “Cavalcade of Classics.”

    Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

