First Check-In Post #ccreadathon

ccreadathon2Hello, Readathoners! Adam here, again, to check in with you all and see how things are going.  Are we making great progress? Enjoying some wonderful classics?  I hope so!

We’re about six hours into the readathon, which puts us at 1/4 (25%) of the way, so this seems like a good point to pause, check-in with one another, share some stories/tips/problems and whatever else. I know quite a few of you started early/late, and that is totally okay! Coordinating a readathon around the globe comes with some obvious difficulties – by the way, did you all see how many people from around the world checked-in on our Starting Post! So cool!

I’ve enjoyed reading through the posts from the starting line, as well as what you’ve been saying on twitter (by the way, we are using #ccreadathon for any tweets related to the event!). I have also enjoyed reading some of Walt Whitman’s poetry, though I did stop to get in some exercise, take a shower, and now have lunch – so I’m not making a TON of progress, but I’m definitely making some.

To check-in, let us know if you’re reading, what book you’re plowing through, and anything else! I’m excited to see who’s still chugging along! So post away and let us know what’s up with your classics reading!  Maybe you have a new favorite quote from your reading today?  I do!  Here it is:

From this hour I ordain myself loos’d of limits and imaginary lines,
Going where I list, my own master total and absolute,
Listening to others, considering well what they say,
Pausing, searching, receiving, contemplating,
Gently,but with undeniable will, divesting myself of the holds that would hold me.
I inhale great draughts of space,
The east and the west are mine, and the north and the south are mine.

I am larger, better than I thought,
I did not know I held so much goodness.

All seems beautiful to me,
I can repeat over to men and women You have done such good to me I would do the same to you,
I will recruit for myself and you as I go,
I will scatter myself among men and women as I go,
I will toss a new gladness and roughness among them,
Whoever denies me it shall not trouble me,
Whoever accepts me he or she shall be blessed and shall bless me.

–Walt Whitman (from “Song of the Open Road”)

You can find the Starting Post Here.

You can find the Sign-Up Post and Linky Widget Here.

19 thoughts on “First Check-In Post #ccreadathon

  1. Pingback: Second Check-In Post #ccreadathon | The Classics Club

  2. Very successful readathon 😀
    After 14 hours I have finished both Peter Pan and The Great Gatsby.

    Gatsby touched me in a surprising way though, and I think I’ll rather go to sleep now than spoiling the experience by immediately reading on in another book.
    Good luck to everyone still bearing up!

    Like

  3. I have read Candide by Voltaire. I was hoping to read The Age of Innocence today but with the snow coming tomorrow, I had a lot of running around to do today. Now I’m torn between starting it knowing I won’t finish it today, or for a while, and just leaving it for another time.

    Like

  4. I’m chugging through Great Expectations today, and also listened to an audiobook for about an hour while driving today. I’ve read about 225 pages of GE so far, and it’s definitely slow-going. I kind of wish I’d gone for a shorter book..? It would be nice to tick a book off the list!

    Like

  5. I had planned on joining in the readathon to help me finish my ccspin – The Brothers K, but a friend’s wedding last night has derailed my good intentions!
    It’s purely self-inflicted and perhaps I’ll squeeze in a few reading hours at the end of the day 🙂

    Good luck everyone else. Looks like some great books being tackled today.

    Like

  6. Well I did ok balancing reading and work for a few hours…then I had dinner…then I went to the cinema to see The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug! It’s the last weekend before we go back to school so I couldn’t really say no; now I’ve got to try to read before falling asleep and maybe get some done tomorrow morning too – I’ve read about 20 pages of The Warden and about 40 more pages of The Redeemer so I really need to get cracking!

    Like

  7. I forgot to sign up for the read-a-thon, but I chose to participate quietly anyway. I started reading two hours early, which in Norway was at noon. I’ve been reading Tolkien all day. First up was The Children of Húrin and I have now gotten deep into Unfinished Tales. This has been a great way to start the reading year. If I’m still awake and eager after finishing Unfinished Tales (haha) I might find a different author to read. I’m dying to read more of Mikhail Bulgakov, P.G. Wodehouse and Victor Hugo. There’s no end to the possible options when wishing to read great classics.

    Like

  8. Am about 50 pages into Once and Future King and like it so far. I did mark a quotation already: “There were thousands of brown books in leather bindings, some chained to the book-shelves and others propped against each other as if they had had too much to drink and did not really trust themselves. These gave out a smell of must and solid brownness which was most secure.”

    Like

    • Anne of Green Gables made me cry too — it is super sad at the end! Haven’t read Anne of Avonlea, look forward to hearing about it.

      Like

      • It’s one of the few books that makes me cry every time I read it too. The series is great – it’s fascinating watching Anne grown up.

        Like

  9. I have read about 125 pages of Lady Chatterley’s Lover and with less than 100 to go I am going to try and finish it before bed. It hasn’t been all reading; stopped to make a curry and see boyf, I thought it might be a tad rude to read the whole time he was here! Hope everyone is enjoying their reading as much as I am.

    Like

  10. Hi all! I made it through The Awakening by Kate Chopin this morning. I took about two hours off to see my brother before he heads several states away for college, but now I’m back at it with One Day In the Life of Ivan Denisovitch. I hope to have that done in a couple hours. Hope everyone is enjoying today!

    Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

