Back to the Classics Challenge

Is there another challenge out there that lends itself so well to our personal Classics Club challenge and yet also helps us step outside our comfort zone?

I have decided to join this challenge for 2021 and I thought now would be a good time to share it with you, in case you have missed it. It will be hosted by Karen at Books and Chocolate.

Here’s Karen:

“For the eighth year, I’m hosting the Back to the Classics Challenge, a year-long challenge in which participants are encouraged to finally read the classics they’ve always meant to read — or just recently discovered. At the end of the year, one lucky winner will receive a prize $30 (US) in books from the bookstore of their choice. “

Karen asks readers to read from twelve categories in 2021. She offers one entry to the prize to anyone who reads from six categories, two entries to a reader from nine categories, and three entries to a reader from all twelve categories.

What are the categories for 2021? Again, from Karen:
1. A 19th century classic. 2. A 20th century classic. 3. A classic by a woman author.
4. A classic in translation. 5. A classic by BIPOC author.
6. A classic by a new-to-you author. 7. New-to-you classic by a favorite author. 8. A classic about an animal, or with an animal in the title. 9. A children’s classic. 
10. A humorous or satirical classic. 11. A travel or adventure classic (fiction or non-fiction). 12. A classic play. Plays will only count in this category.

Take a look at Karen’s sign-up post on Books and Chocolate for more details about the challenge.

As always, please let me know if you run across other challenges for 2021 of interest to Classic Clubbers.


 

24 thoughts on “Back to the Classics Challenge

  1. Until recently, I thought to myself “no challenges for 2021” : I already have 4 in store ! I think I’ll stop here but will probably plan ahead for 2022 – yup, optimistic ^^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did join, could not resist, although I had decided not to enter any challenges this year, only concentrating on lower the number of unread books on my shelves. I managed to find seven of them on my shelves and one on my iPad. The rest I will borrow from the library or download elsewhere.
    I think it goes very well with the Classic club list. There is only one on this list that goes into the challenge. For the next list, I will add some of the classics for this challenge. Unless I have already read them. Can not promise to read all twelve.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is. I had decided not to enter any challenges this year, only concentrating on lower the number of unread books on my shelves. However, the challenges I do join are the ones that let me read from my own shelves. Of course, I did not have all the categories, but I did have seven of them on my shelves and one on my iPad. The rest I will borrow from the library or download elsewhere.

      Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.