Clubber of the Month for March ’19

Hello all and welcome to this month’s post honoring Nancy from NancyElin Book Blog. Instead of our usual interview, we have decided to share a few questions she has recently answered on our 50 Question Survey.

For more information or If you have a nomination for future Clubbers of the month, you can nominate them on the clubber page. Nominations for April will be taken until 4/7/2019.


Her Survey Answers

Check here for her full survey answers.

1. Share a link to your club listBook List #1 –  Book List #2

2. When did you join The Classics Club? 2012

3. Best book you’ve read so far with the club, and why?

Mme Bovary (G. Flaubert) – Mme Bovary was my first French classic for my “read French for a year” challenge. It took me three months to finish the book.. Some days I could just read 6 pages! At times I would take a deep breath and as myself… is it worth the effort? I did not give up and have kept on reading French.

4. Book you most anticipate (or, anticipated) on your club list?

Sentimental Education. I’ve never rad another book by Flaubert since 2012 Mme Bovary. That book was my nemesis. I can still see the cover on Goodreads… it sends chills down my spine. Oh. how I struggled with that book. Now after many years of reading French I want to see if I can manage Flaubert’s vocabulary without the feeling of exasperation. Can I master his language… ever?

5. Book on your club list you’ve been avoiding, Why?

Any book by Virginia Woolf. I have no rational reason for this aversion. I hope to discover why so many people love her books. To the Lighthouse is on my classics list 2.

6. First classic you ever read?

The Tale of Two Cities, C. Dickens

7. Toughest classic you ever read?

Don Quixotethis was a challenge to read… very long one.

8. Classic that inspired you? or scared you? made you cry? made you angry?

Inspired: St. Augustine’s Confessions – I read it and listened to an audio explanation via Audible.Com series The Great Courses. I would recommend both!

Scared: Dracula by B. Stoker – shape-shifting creatures… vampires. Horror is not a genre like a western or crime fiction… it is pure emotion! This is a classic not to be missed!

Cried: The closest I came to tears was reading… the last pages of Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton. When it comes to women’s feelings… Edith nails it.

Angry: The Next Time Fire by J. Baldwin… b/c nothing has changed since the 1960’s.

Check out her full survey post for all of her answers!


Yay! Thank you so much to Nancy for participating and congrats again! To read more from Nancy, check out her blog or twitter!

One thought on “Clubber of the Month for March ’19

  1. I enjoyed reading this post–reading in French is truly impressing to me. I absolutely loved Dracula – I generally don’t read horror, and I’m not into vampires, but Bram Stoker did such a marvelous job with this novel, I look forward to rereading it…someday.

    I am given up on Virginia Woolf–I read To the Lighthouse a few years ago, and basically through in the towel. I had read The Waves in college. She is just not for me.

    Happy reading, Nancy…and other Classic Clubbers.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.