Member Updates #6

Yay, Happy February & Welcome to this month’s update post. How was everyone’s January? Read any good classics? Anything particular you plan to read in the next few weeks?


Gone With The WindAnnouncements

Anyone up for a bit of Gone With the Wind?  – I personally planned to read Gone With The Wind this month…. Especially after everyone was talking so highly of it last month. When I posted my monthly TBR though, Jillian commented about the Readalong in March over at The Book Corps. So I have now decided to read Anna Karenina this month instead (still a great Valentine’s book) and I will be reading along and live tweeting my experience of Gone With the Wind on twitter, starting March 1st, using #gwtwreadalong. Yay!! Check out the readalong main post for more details about the event!

Classics Club Live – Our first #ClassicsClubLive took place on Twitter January 27. I found it to be very fun & am excited to try it again. For those you who participated, do you have any suggestions or comments? Perhaps we could tweak the rules or timing to garner a wider appeal and more participation. I would love this to be something that clubbers can look forward too.  Any suggestions would be appreciated.

CURRENT RULES: If you want to participate, you will reply to the pinned post with your name, your current classic read and a link to a classic club post on your blog (can be your main list, a review, your spin list or whatever you like, as long as it’s related to the classics club.). After replying, you will be tasked with visiting and commenting on three (or more) blog posts: (1)the featured one on the Intro post, (2) the link post direct below/before you in the reply thread of twitter, and (3) one random link of your choosing.

February Clubber of the Month – Ok. Drumroll please as I get ready to announce this month’s Clubber of the Month! This clubber was nominated for her ability to challenge the ideas and opinions of her readers (& for having an interesting instagram). She was very grateful to have been chosen and I can’t wait for you all to get to know more about her. So, without further preamble, this month’s Clubber of the Month is Cirtnecce from Mockingbirds, Looking Glasses and Prejudices. YAY! Congrats!! I will be posting more about Cirtnecce later in the month.


Member Stats

TOTAL MEMBERS: 404 NEW MEMBERS: 6 WALL OF HONOR MEMBERS: 21

Newest Members

view the Member’s List


Newest Wall of Honor Inductees

view the Wall of Honor


Also, just as a reminder, if you’d like to change the due date on your list, change the link or if you have finished your list, let me know in the comments or on the Contact Page and i’ll be sure to get your entry up to date.

Any other questions? Please feel free to put them in the comments too!

Have a Great February,

-Margaret

21 thoughts on “Member Updates #6

  1. I’m almost done with book 1 of War and Peace–so good. It will most likely be my favorite book of the year. Gearing up for Song of the Lark, by Willa Cather, and hopefully a road trip to Red Cloud, NE.

    I have read GWTW more than 5 times–I think last read I said it would be my last. MM is a great storyteller, but she looks at history through a glass darkly.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I re-read the series a couple of years ago – still charming, but Little Women and Good wives are the best of the four. Jo’s Boys and Little Men satisfy one’s curiosity about what happens next, but their style and tone feels quite different.

        Like

    1. I’ve never tried a live event on IG – it might be a little trickier to manage as they don’t have a ‘latest’ tab or use chronological order in feeds. We could coordinate the question/s on IG though and let people answer at their leisure…?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. OK I’m not that familiar with it. I’ve only watched some live events on IG, I think if you use the IGTV feature it will save it for later. Let’s chat on IG via DM and see if we can brainstorm, if you want?

        Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.