Final Check-In: Women’s Classic Literature Event 2016.

Elizabeth Gaskell, Jane Austen, Zora Neale Hurson, George Eliot, Rose Wilder Lane, Louisa May Alcott, & Virginia Woolf.
Elizabeth Gaskell, Jane Austen, Zora Neale Hurston, George Eliot, Rose Wilder Lane, Louisa May Alcott, & Virginia Woolf.

Our final group question: If you could meet any of the authors you read for this event, which one would you meet, & why? What would you ask her?


Here’s the last check-in for the 2016 Women’s Classic Literature Event. We would love to know how you did? We have a few weeks left till the year fades into its twilight embers. Are you planning to finish up any women’s classics for the remainder of the year? Are you going to keep exploring classics by female authors?

This is really the big question we want to ask: what has been your favorite title for this challenge? Do you have any recommendations for others going forward? Lost authors they might try? Why do you recommend that author? (What made you love her work, and if it’s possible, why do you think she was forgotten? Will she make a comeback?)

If you’ve read some great titles or written some great posts, please feel free to share them below! And thanks so much for participating! We hope you liked this event. 🙂

Twitter: #ccwomenclassics.

6 thoughts on “Final Check-In: Women’s Classic Literature Event 2016.

  1. I read 7 books for this challenge. It’s hard to pick a favorite, but if you twisted my arm I think it would be ‘Gone With the Wind’ by Margaret Mitchell. However, if I could invite any of the authors from my list out to lunch, it’d probably be Jane Goodall (‘In the Shadow of Man’) — she’s had such an interesting life and has so many interesting ideas!

    Like

  2. I am so grateful for this challenge. It “encouraged” me to read eight classic books written by women, six of them new to me.

    My favorite was West With the Night by Beryl Markham. She was a contemporary of Karen Blixen and Denys Finch-Hatton in East Africa in the early Twentieth century. Beryl was a horse trainer, when only men held that position, she learned to fly an airplane well before most people had even flown in one, and she told wonderful, descriptive stories of live in Africa. I was enthralled not only by the content but by her writing.

    I also was very impressed by Marjorie Rawlings’ The Yearling. Her writing was so descriptive.

    I’d be honored if you would read my full summary of my readings for this challenge at https://headfullofbooks.blogspot.com/2016/12/the-womens-classic-literature-event.html

    Like

  3. I did my final post for this event here just now. I read 20 books for this challenge! Very pleased by that number. Ten were re-reads, and ten were new to me. I read things by several authors I’d never read before: Elinore Pruitt Stewart, Georgette Heyer, Bess Streeter Aldrich, B. J. Chute, and Edith Wharton.

    I’m not sure what my overall favorite book I read for this was. Let’s call it a tie between Anne of Green Gables, Letters of a Woman Homesteader, and Greenwillow. All were amazing! I’d read Anne of Green Gables many times before, but the other two were new to me and are now on my list of favorite books.

    I have a list of all my reviews and other posts for this challenge here on my blog, if you’re interested.

    Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.