Classics Club Event: Feminist Literature in March

Click to see our latest posts on this topic.

Twitter hashtag: #cc12months


All right, clubbers! Today begins the third installment of our Twelve Months of Classic Literature Event with works of Feminist Literature  and/or Persophone and Virago (details) literature. There’s a really great resource on feminist literature here, written by book bloggers.

This Feminist Event is for the current month, but honestly, you can contribute thoughts and post links to the comments below whenever you write them. The purpose of this event is to have a central place to share our thoughts/posts on the topic.

We want to know what you read and what you think about this topic, but we don’t want to research for you. We’re excited to see how this club shapes this month’s topic. We’re a great mix of experts and new readers. We want to encourage you all to share and explore. Use the links above to get started.

Even if you don’t have time to read for the event this month, you could post about the titles you have on your club list that pertain to this month’s topic, write an informative post for fellow clubbers on the topic, or talk about why you didn’t include any titles from the topic on your club list. Feature an author! Write a poem! Explore classic art that accentuates the literature. It’s your event. Research-based posts, free-writing, emotion-based “I love this topic” journal entries, lists – all are welcome and encouraged. Some of you may be experts (or experts in progress) on this month’s topic. Your input is highly encouraged and appreciated! Others are new to literature. For you and the experts, exploration is encouraged.

Please see our main event page for details. 

So, are you in? What will you be reading/writing? 🙂

Cheers, and a very happy reading and writing month to you! – The Club

File:Marywollstonecraft.jpg
Our muse this month.

SHARE links and thoughts about this month’s topic BELOW!


22 thoughts on “Classics Club Event: Feminist Literature in March

  1. I’m not sure if I’ll read something this month, as I’m a bit preoccupied with Diana Wynne Jones March, but DWJ was definitely feminist… 🙂 I do have a Virago on my TBR pile so we will see.

    Like

  2. Oh, I’m definitely in — I have a stack of unread Persephones and Viragos, plus works by Willa Cather and Edith Wharton. Not sure which ones since I have so many to choose from!

    Like

  3. I just finished a Virago title I’ll be reviewing for the event – Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead by Barbara Comyns. I’ll soon be starting Their Eyes Were Watching God, which is also a Virago book and which I didn’t have time to read last month for the Harlem Ren theme.

    I’d like to fit in at least one pointedly feminist title during the month, too, as this is a subject which has been of supreme importance to me since I was a little girl.

    Thanks for hosting!

    Like

  4. I’m planning to read my Virago edition of Edith Wharton’s Death Comes for the Archbishop in March. The publisher and the author would definitely count for this month’s event, but I am not so sure about this particular book. The description doesn’t make it sound very feminist.

    Like

    1. You’re right; Death Comes for the Archbishop is not feminist in nature but it is an excellent book. I’m assuming that because it’s written by a woman, it would count for this challenge though. Oh, and it’s written by Willa Cather. If you’re looking for a more feminist Cather, I’d suggest My Antonia, if you haven’t read it already. In the case of Wharton, The House of Mirth is just wonderful; one of my top favourites! 🙂 Honestly I don’t think you could go wrong with either author.

      Whatever you choose I hope it’s an enjoyable read! 🙂

      Like

  5. I just read Anne Bronte’s preface to the second edition of The Tenant on Wildfell Hall, and it’s feminist as hell (addresses the speculation that Acton Bell was a female) so I think in going to go with it!

    Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.