November Meme: Question #28

Hi clubbers!! We’re excited to be posting our November meme question for the club!

Here’s the question this month, contributed by Ruth, who joined us in March 2012:

see future questions for this meme

Which argument made by an author (what the author wants you to believe) do you most support or agree with (or disagree with).  First give the argument, then state why you agree or disagree.  For example, what argument does Melville make in Moby Dick, and do you agree?  Why or why not?

Feel free to answer over at your blog any time in November, and leave the link to your post in the comments below.

Remember to check out this page for details or to share suggestions for future meme questions! And then check out one another’s posts!

Twitter hashtag: #ccmeme


 

“Reading” – Auguste Renoir (1890-1895)

3 thoughts on “November Meme: Question #28

  1. Sorry to put a buzz kill on your worthy question Ruth. I’ll try something maybe a bit less controversial. Another argument made by an author that I agree with: I believe Charlotte Bronte makes a case for immutable righteousness vs situation ethics in Jane Eyre. I heartily agree…though she tempted me. I wanted Jane to give in, because I wanted her to be happy.

    My review of Jane Eyre: http://100greatestnovelsofalltimequest.blogspot.com/2014/10/jane-eyre-by-charlotte-bronte-31-down.html

    Like

  2. A worthy question, but one I am reluctant to answer. I detest political or theological debate, and my answer could lead to such debate. (I don’t detest true unimpassioned debate, but rather what some call debate, but is really each side reasserting what they have already asserted, only more forcefully and belligerently each round, without considering the merits of the opposing argument.) But I am no coward so, the argument in my readings that I am in most agreement with is that made by William Golding in Lord of the Flies. There’s a hint. You have to read my review to get the full answer.
    http://100greatestnovelsofalltimequest.blogspot.com/2012/07/the-lord-of-flies-by-william-golding.html

    Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.