Your Lucky Spin Number Is…

If you joined the game last week, find number 20 on your CC Spin #36 List! That’s the CLASSIC you are challenged to read by 3rd March 2024

We know it can be hard to stay on track and enthused about your Spin Book for the whole journey. We plan to provide support and encouragement to all our CC Spinners via twitter, fb, instagram and goodreads. We hope you can join us in cheering everyone on to finish another fabulous classics reading experience!

If you’re struggling with your book, let us know. We’ll do everything we can to help you through. Perhaps one of your new moderators has read it, or we can link you up with another Classics Clubber who has.

As always, the prize is the reading experience. 

What’s Next?

Tell us below what your number 20 title is:

  • Are you feeling thrilled, hesitant or ‘meh’ about your title?
  • Check out our ‘Reviews By Members’ page for other Classic Clubbers who may have read your book recently. They may be able to help you if you hit a speedhump in your reading.
  • Cheer on your fellow Clubbers.
  • Take a pic of your book and pop it on Instagram or twitter.
  • If you can — it would be fabulous if everyone posted about their Spin book by the 3rd March.
  • Then check back here to share your experience and add your review to our ‘Reviews By Members’ page.

Hashtag: #ccspin  #ccwhatimreading

PS. Thanks to one of the new WordPress updates, many comments are ending up in our spam folders. Please check yours to see what might be hiding there 🙂

55 thoughts on “Your Lucky Spin Number Is…

  1. I got a re-read: To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s been a hot minute since I read it… so long in fact that I recently unhauled the copy I had on my shelf because I felt like I would never get back around to it. The CCSpin said, “You’re not getting rid of it that easily!” Time to beg, borrow, or steal another copy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a copy of that, maybe I will read it for the Japanese Literature Challenge this year. (If I can find it.)

      TracyK at Bitter Tea and Mystery

      Like

  2. The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax by Dorothy Gilman! Well, I bought the first two of this series just to put them on my CCSpin list, so thanks for picking this one. I do love a protagonist who is a widowed woman of a “certain age” like me, so this sounds like fun!

    Liked by 3 people

      1. I must have seen a review or a blog post about her and these books to make me buy the first two of the series. Maybe on Simon’s blog Stuck in a Book? Not sure. But I’ve heard they are fun, and hey, I’m in my 60s and widowed, and with grown children, so I’ll be able to identify with Pollifax!

        Liked by 1 person

          1. That’s lovely that you and your mother can enjoy the same books. My mother read bodice-ripper romances, and I hate that genre! Oh well… But my son does like some of the books I’ve read, and he was just here and took two of my books to his partner (she was in an accident and is in the hospital). I hope she likes them.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. I will be reading ‘The Village of Eight Graves’ by Seishi Yokomizo. Originally published in Japan in 1950, this is a mystery featuring Detective Kosuke Kindaichi. I’m excited about this one for a number of reasons: it’s a translated classic, part of a series that I’ve loved, and it’s one of my favorite genres.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I am surprised but pleased with my result from the spin: The Quiet American by Graham Greene. I haven’t read nearly enough by Greene. I did see the film years ago and I would like to see it again if I can get access to it.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. The Spin Gods must be in a good mood this time – they picked me a short one! The Guns of Navarone by Alastair MacLean – I have a soft spot for these mid-20th century thrillers, so I have high hopes for this one.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. I got To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I read it once when I was thirteen and don’t remember much so I’m excited to revisit it now as an adult. Hope everyone enjoys their pick!

    Liked by 4 people

  7. I’ll be reading The Robe by Lloyd Cassel Douglas. It probably wouldn’t have been my first choice, but I’m definitely not upset about it. I’m looking forward to it! I hope everyone else is happy with their book!

    Liked by 3 people

        1. I was excited about the movie because I’d loved the book but the changes made to the plot especially in the second half didn’t feel right to me… although those Richard Mature ancient/biblical epics from the 50s were quite an experience! Samson and Delilah with Hedy Lamarr… whew!

          Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.