Group Check-In #25: August 2017

What is this? Click to find out.

Hi Clubbers! How’s the reading going? Check in with the group below!

Tell us about your project — or you! Introduce yourself. Chat.

Tell us what you’ve read, how you’re feeling about your progress, how much you love the classics or the community — any struggles, a favorite read so far. Really, whatever you feel like sharing!

Some people prefer writing an update at their own blog and linking it here in the comments. That’s fine, too.

Feel free to respond to one another in the comments below — ask questions, visit each other, tell us you are new to the club, planning to join the club — etc. This is a meet and greet.

If you’re having trouble with your list and need encouragement, say that! That’s understandable. We want new classics readers to join us, so there’s nothing wrong with arriving to this thread with all of the newness showing!

(Please also note the “check-in” feature here is entirely voluntarily, intended for those who like weighing in with others in the group, and having a periodic place to reflect upon goals for the club. For some this feature would feel like an unwanted intrusion. Silent participation in this group is of course welcome!)

Thanks for all of your enthusiasm about this project!

New? Introduce yourself to the group on Twitter using hashtag #ccintroductions @ourclassicsclub. You can also introduce yourself here at the blog. 🙂


Twitter hashtag for reading check-ins: #ccreadingupdate

Note that if you’re on Twitter, you can also tweet your latest classic book reviews to the group using hashtag #ccbookreviews.

19 thoughts on “Group Check-In #25: August 2017

  1. I am working my way through The Odyssey. Having a bit of trouble as I usually read before bed, but I’m finding this one isn’t the best for before bed reading. Might have to switch it to a book a day during my toddler’s naptime or over my lunch hour or something. Next up is Journey to the Center of the Earth which should be pretty light.

    I did decide to switch out Catch-22 for Fahrenheit 451. Maybe I’ll try Catch-22 in a few years, but I just couldn’t get into it. I also have planned for this year The Once and Future King and The Old Curiosity Shop. I tend to read a classic a month. I’d love to do more, but I’m a children’s librarian so I’ve a ton of children’s literature to familiarize myself with.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks! I actually did read the Iliad in college and, oddly enough, found it way more difficult to get through than I remembered the Odyssey in high school. Currently, all I’m noticing is it really depends on how awake I am while reading!

        Like

  2. I’ve been rereading The Hobbit & LOTR which is great for my CC list #2 but not so good for the unfinished CC list #1!!

    I need a CC Spin to help me read another book from my list – nudge, nudge, wink, wink 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read a few shorter ones in the last couple of months but really need to tackle some of the longer ones or I’m going to end up with only massive ones left. But next up is a re-read of classic sci-fi – Isaac Asimov’s Foundation. Then classic crime with Ed McBain’s Cop Hater. Hmm… then I’m sure I’ll fit in a heavyweight after that… 😉

    Like

  4. Hi, everyone! I’m a new member of the Classics Club and am loving it! I exclusively read classics & ‘forgotten favourites’ (on-the-obscure-side popular literature) at least 100 years old. Since joining up on the 28th of July, I’ve (re)read maybe 12 or 13 books from my CC list, with reviews forthcoming. So far I’m rather ahead of schedule, so I might either add more books to the list or shorten the length of the challenge, making sure to add fewer rereads. I took a five-year break from reading until I found this club, so I wanted to start off by easing my way back in with books I kind of remembered. Maybe I’ll add 25 new-to-me books to my list?

    Right now I’m reading Bulfinch’s Mythology (1867), Darwin’s Origin of Species (1859), and Frances Hodgson Burnett’s The Secret Garden (1911), with plans to read some Anthony Trollope & Charlotte Yonge (and more Charles Kingsley!) next for my Bout of Books read-a-thon.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I added so many books to my original CC list that, by the time I finished reading 50 books in 5 years, I had more than 50 more still on my list, so I just started over with a new set of 50. I keep adding to this list too, now, so I suspect the same thing might happen again. So yeah… I have the same problem you do.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the classics, but I don’t necessarily love my classics club list. It’s hard to choose the perfect list when you mostly read classics anyway. I chose most of the books when I started 4 years ago! I have only read a fraction of them. I changed my original list a few times in the beginning. I probably won’t be able to finish all the books left on my list in the next year, but I like the classics club community. I just get distracted and read other things. I recently changed my channel name, url, and design because I’m older than I was when I started blogging. I’m no longer 20/21. I’m also reading more modern books (published in the last 10 years). I’ve definitely read more than 50 classics since starting, but I haven’t read all 50 books on classics club list. I’m OK where I am currently tbh. I read a lot more widely than I did when I started. I used to only read Victorian lit! I feel a renewed excitement to get involved in the Classics Club. A long check-in, but that’s where I am currently. It seems like other bloggers are experiencing similar things. They are older now, and their reading tastes and personality have changed. But I’m still here.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. It’s been slow progress for a while mainly because I get tempted by new publications and blog tours but I’ve read a couple off my list in the past month. Currently reading The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson. I’ve allowed myself to pick some of the shorter books on my list which helps.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. This is my second time doing the CC challenge, and I feel like I’ve been falling behind, but really I’ve read 11 books on my list in 9 months, so I’m doing fine. Not sure why I feel that way! Maybe my first time through, I was a little more gung-ho about it or something? Hmm. Anyway, last month I finished my 11th book, The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler, which I reviewed here.

    Next up will be The Lord of the Rings, which I’ll be starting in September.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I’m closing in on the halfway mark, time-wise, and am slightly behind with only 21 books. One of mine (Gulag Archipelago) is a monster, though, and I’m fairly sure once it’s finished I will be able to get back on target. I recently finished Volume I of the Gulag Archiepelago, and will take on volume 2 next month. Distracting me is finishing Will Durant’s Story of Civilization series…I am on the eleventh and last volume, Age of Napoleon, and will finish within the week a journey of seven years and ten thousand pages.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

