Group Check-In #17 – February 2016

What is this? Click to find out.

Hi Clubbers! How’s the reading going? Check in with the group below!

Tell us about your project — or you! Introduce yourself. Chat.

Tell us what you’ve read, how you’re feeling about your progress, how much you love the classics or the community — any struggles, a favorite read so far. Really, whatever you feel like sharing!

Some people prefer writing an update at their own blog and linking it here in the comments. That’s fine, too.

Feel free to respond to one another in the comments below — ask questions, visit each other, tell us you are new to the club, planning to join the club — etc. This is a meet and greet.

If you’re having trouble with your list and need encouragement, say that! That’s understandable. We want new classics readers to join us, so there’s nothing wrong with arriving to this thread with all of the newness showing!

(Please also note the “check-in” feature here is entirely voluntarily, intended for those who like weighing in with others in the group, and having a periodic place to reflect upon goals for the club. For some this feature would feel like an unwanted intrusion. Silent participation in this group is of course welcome!)

Thanks for all of your enthusiasm about this project!

New? Introduce yourself to the group on Twitter using hashtag #ccintroductions @ourclassicsclub. You can also introduce yourself here at the blog. ๐Ÿ™‚


Twitter hashtag for reading check-ins: #ccreadingupdate

Note that if you’re on Twitter, you can also tweet your latest classic book reviews to the group using hashtag #ccbookreviews.

12 thoughts on “Group Check-In #17 – February 2016

  1. I started off the month reviewing The War of the Worlds, which was my CC Spin. And I have to say I can’t stop thinking about it. I would have read it eventually since it is on my CC List, but I am so glad its number was up sooner rather than later! It wasn’t anything like I thought it would be. I enjoyed the story so much, the writing, the way it was told. I checked out two more of Wells’ books as well as some Jules Verne to compare. So thanks to the Spin Goddesses I have new author(s)/genre to explore ๐Ÿ™‚

    I also just read and reviewed L.M. Montgomery’s, The Blue Castle and am now more intrigued with Montgomery than ever before!

    Like

  2. I am just over half done with The Annals by Tacitus. It is a very challenging read (and as I’ve said before, my brain really hates that.) The Annals cover the last years of the Roman Empire from Tiberius through whoever is last (I haven’t gotten that far). Tiberius has just died, which has to be a good thing for the Empire, since his freakish paranoia got all sorts of people killed.

    I had been warned that the history of the Roman Empire was exceptionally violent, yet Tacitus still managed to surprise me. (Seriously, I found myself saying a quick Hail Mary for a little girl who has been dead almost 2000 years because, hey, it can’t hurt her and it might help me. I mean, yikes!)

    I’m reading The Annals to absorb the flavor and the flow, not to memorize the history. There are new names of people going to places I have never heard of (that are now called something else) every two pages. I’ve poured over the genealogy of Tiberius, who is more inbred than the people in Deliverance, and consulted maps of the Roman Empire to try to understand the political situation. It really is fascinating. (It also doesn’t hurt that I visualize every new character as either Titus Pullo or Lucius Vorenus from the TV series Rome. Thanks, HBO.) I will finish this book, but it might take me another month or so.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such great selections! Eagerly anticipating thoughts on both “Picnic at Hanging Rock” (which I read about a year ago), and “Castle Rackrent” (which I’ve meant to read, but forgot about). Maybe that’ll go on the list. I’m currently on a real roll with my list — it helps that I decided to be more flexible about it, and let myself change it at will. ๐Ÿ™‚ Everything I’m bumping off is going on a secondary list for future reference, for those “someday maybe, but not today” books. Currently I’m finishing the second book of the Little House on the Prairie read-along, and then I’m planning to start Marie Corelli’s “A Romance of Two Worlds.” But I’m easily distracted by other books.

    Like

  4. Just finished Mrs Dalloway (or Clarissa, as I now feel we are on first name terms) and about to dive into The Heart is a Lonely Hunter…but my favourite read of 2016 so far is still War and Peace. Pierre, mon amour!! (It’s worth noting that I have already made more progress on my CC list in 2016 than in the whole of 2015…long may it continue!)

    Like

  5. I haven’t been reading off of my list recently, but I have been reading the classics! Currently I’m enrolled in a 2-year curriculum on Ancient Rome and we are reading all primary documents. I can’t recommend enough the political speeches of Cicero — no one writes invective like Cicero against Cataline. Well worth reading. I’ve also read Livy books I-V, Coriolanus by Shakespeare, Lucan on the Roman civil wars, and next up is Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar. What a wealth of great reading from Ancient Rome.

    But I need to get back to my own reading list soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve read 3 books from my CC list so far this year, and 2 of them have been, well, not that great.

    The Yellow Wallpaper by Gilman, 4 stars: http://www.lonestaronalark.com/2016/02/classics-club-yellow-wallpaper-by.html
    Foundation by Asimov, 2 stars: http://www.lonestaronalark.com/2016/01/classics-club-foundation-by-isaac-asimov.html
    Wizard’s First Rule by Goodkind, 1 single, pathetic star: http://www.lonestaronalark.com/2016/02/classics-club-wizards-first-rule-by.html

    So… it’s been a disappointing start to the year. I’m also working my way through Middlemarch ever so slowly right now for the Women’s Classic Lit event thing. Wish me luck!

    Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

