Classics Club Event: Romantic Literature in September

Click to see our latest posts on this topic.

Twitter hashtag: #cc12months


All right, clubbers! Today begins the ninth installment of our Twelve Months of Classic Literature Event with works of Romantic Literature. This movement in literature includes writers such as Edgar Allan Poe and Nathaniel Hawthorne, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Horace Walpole, William Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, John Keats, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, Percy Bysshe Shelley, Herman Melville, and Emily Dickinson.

The Romantic Literature Event is for the current month, but honestly, you can contribute thoughts and post links to the comments below whenever you write them. The purpose of this event is to have a central place to share our thoughts/posts on the topic.

We want to know what you read and what you think about this topic, but we don’t want to research for you. We’re excited to see how this club shapes this month’s topic. We’re a great mix of experts and new readers. We want to encourage you all to share and explore. Use the links above to get started.

Even if you don’t have time to read for the event this month, you could post about the titles you have on your club list that pertain to this month’s topic, write an informative post for fellow clubbers on the topic, or talk about why you didn’t include any titles from the topic on your club list. Feature an author! Write a poem! Explore classic art that accentuates the literature. It’s your event. Research-based posts, free-writing, emotion-based “I love this topic” journal entries, lists – all are welcome and encouraged. Some of you may be experts (or experts in progress) on this month’s topic. Your input is highly encouraged and appreciated! Others are new to literature. For you and the experts, exploration is encouraged.

Please see our main event page for details. 

So, are you in? What will you be reading/writing? 🙂

Cheers, and a very happy reading and writing month to you! – The Club

File:Beethoven.jpg

Our muse this month. (Beethoven! Ha! He’s not a literary artist, but he certainly does evoke the thunder of the movement. Set his music to literature, and you’ve got Percy Shelley.) 🙂

SHARE links and thoughts about this month’s topic BELOW!


10 thoughts on “Classics Club Event: Romantic Literature in September

  1. Pingback: What I’m Reading Monday #5 | The Reading Wench

  2. Pingback: What I’m Reading Monday #4 | The Reading Wench

  3. Something about John Keats, one of my favourite poets. I truly love him. http://half-filledattic.blogspot.com/2014/09/pot-of-poetry-from-lines-to-fanny-by.html

    Oh, and for more John Keats on my blog:
    http://half-filledattic.blogspot.com/search/label/John%20Keats

    The March CC Meme is favourite literary period. Mine is Romanticism. Here’s the link for the post.
    http://half-filledattic.blogspot.com/2014/03/classics-club-march-meme-favourite.html

    My eternal favourite author is Shakespeare, doubtless. But most of the poets and authors that I like come from Romanticism. Another blogger once said that I was a Romantic person (in a sense that Romanticism suits me), but at that time I didn’t understand that. Maybe I am, indeed, Romantic.

    Like

  4. Pingback: How did Emily Dickinson know about thought police? | Carol's Notes

  5. Getting off to a late start but I am going to take the opportunity of this event to write some features focusing on the poetry of Emily Dickinson, the poet who my Masters thesis would have been about if I had completed it. Maybe I will finish that thesis yet, post by post! http://www.carolsnotes.net

    Like

  6. Pingback: What I’m Reading Monday #3 | The Reading Wench

  7. I’m in the middle of several books right now (as usual), so it took me awhile to decide if I was going to participate this month. What sealed the deal was the fact that my English Lit. class is currently covering the Romantics, but only the poets. I fell in love with the later Romantics, particularly the Gothic novelists towards the end of the period, in high school, but I’ve never been a big fan of most poetry from any period. So, I’m choosing to get a better (re)understanding of the Romantics, as a way of studying for my class, by participating in this event. I decided on one of the Romantics from my goal list, Villette by Charlotte Bronte. It’s one of the last couple Bronte novels I have yet to read. With all of the other books I’m currently reading, and also considering the length of Villette and the amount of school work I have, I doubt I’ll finish it by the end of September, but trying is better than not doing anything at all, and once I have finished it, I’ll have one more book read from my goal list. I see that as a win-win situation 🙂

    Like

  8. I finish reading Frankenstein a few months ago and I really enjoy it. I was left with curiosity to learn about the author and her inspiration. May be this month that is something I would do among other things.

    Like

  9. I’m going to read Frankenstein, which I have NEVER read before. (I’m also reading Melmoth the Wanderer, but I’m not sure that counts. It is certainly as Gothic as it can be!)

    If anyone is interested, I wrote a post a couple of years ago about The Castle of Otranto that talked about the start of the Gothic novel, as part of a Gothic October event that o and I shared. http://howlingfrog.blogspot.com/2012/10/the-castle-of-otranto.html

    Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

