Sync Read #4: David Copperfield (First Check-In!)

- Sync Read #4 -

– Sync Read #4 –

November 1 through December 30David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

— # —

All right, clubbers! It’s the first halfway point for our fourth sync read, which is designed to be stress-free and place the focus on reading together, rather than completing assignments. (Unless that’s your thing.)

Are you reading? Weigh in below — chat, leave a link to your post if you wrote something, read quietly if you prefer to keep to yourself but love knowing you’re reading with others, even silently. Weigh in here and say nothing at your blog. Whatever suits your personality.

There is no Mr. Linky below because the point in this feature is to talk together in a central place, and list our blogs if it comes up. (Which is of course welcome.)

Tell us how your reading is going! If you know some background on Dickens you want to share, if you have read the novel before and are redipping with the group (or just encouraging the group), if you feel sentimental about the read for any reason (maybe the book was a family member’s favorite), if you read it in college and want to try it again on your own, if you’ve never read it and don’t know what it’s about but it’s on your list so you’re reading it. If you like it, if you don’t like it, if you forgot to begin the book. Etc.

Having any struggles? Loving anything in particular? Favorite character?

We’ll toss up another check-in on December 12 and our final post on December 30 for the finish. Subscribe to the comments below to follow the discussion.

(No spoilers beyond the third-way point in the book please!) – And it’s no pressure here! Feel free to weigh in in a week or nine months, if you like.

– The Club

(2013 Sync Schedule) / Twitter hashtag: #ccsyncread (so we can group chat!)

17 thoughts on “Sync Read #4: David Copperfield (First Check-In!)

  1. Started reading this several days before Thanksgiving and I am truly enjoying this book. First experience with Charles Dickens. Very readable and I definitely loved the first section about his childhood. Just getting now to the part where he has accepted a position as a proctor. This part has been slightly less interesting to me, but I am hoping it will pick up again quickly. I am getting hints that something is going to happen with/to little Em’ly. I don’t know that I am correct, but I suspect . . . I hope I can keep up the pace of reading and finish by the end of December.

    Like

    • I’m reading slower than the schedule, Lisa, and I will still be reading it into January so don’t feel too behind. You are fortunate to have this book as your first introduction to Dickens. If I’d read David Copperfield first, I would probably be approaching him with a more open mind. However, with each book of Dickens that I read, I am enjoying him more and more.

      Like

      • Yes, I had always been very intimidated by Charles Dickens. A Tale of Two Cities looks truly daunting to me – not in size, but subject matter. I feel truly lucky to have this as my first Dickens’ experience. I am completely enjoying the book. It sounds as though you have read several (or many) Dickens’ novels. Any thoughts about which of his books I might want to tackle next? 🙂 Thank you for any advice.

        Like

        • Hi Lisa! So far I’ve read The Mystery of Edwin Drood, A Tale of Two Cities, Martin Chuzzlewit and Dombey and Son. Oh, and half of The Pickwick Papers. I really liked Martin Chuzzlewit …… it’s probably my favourite so far. The Pickwick Papers is fun if you don’t expect a storyline …… it’s a number of very amusing incidents. Edwin Drood I wasn’t that fond of but Dickens died before he finished it, so that may be the problem. What kind of bothers me about Dickens is that he really can overdo his characters until they become not real …. more like caricatures. In some cases this can be amusing but when it’s through a whole book, it can become tiresome. The reason why I am enjoying DC so much is that I don’t find this is the case …… all these characters are plausible and very interesting.

          As for what to read next, I would perhaps give The Tale of Two Cities a try. It’s not that long and the story is very poignant. A quick read on Wikipedia about the French Revolution would bring you up to speed for the setting.

          With Dickens, because his books are so long, I try to spread them out on a schedule over about 2 1/2 months. By reading regularly, I still am able to follow the story but the amount of time devoted to them is not too overwhelming and I can read other books alongside.

          Perhaps others have other recommendations for you. I’ve heard Bleak House is great but some people didn’t like it. Oh yes, and Great Expectations is supposed to be wonderful so that is another possibility. Please let me know what you decide!

          Like

  2. Okay, I am on chapter 24 and I am getting a little tired of David’s gullibility. Come on! How many times does he have to get taken in before he gets a little people-sense? Even when Agnes attempts to warn him about Steerforth, he doesn’t even bother to weigh her opinion.

    Or am I being too hard on him?

    Like

  3. Oh man…I didn’t read my RSS for several weeks and totally missed that this was happening! I’m not going to try to tackle it all in December, but maybe next time around. I’m signed up for emails now so I don’t miss out on a classic I’ve been meaning to read again 🙂

    Like

  4. I’m only about 35% of the way through. I’m enjoying this Dickens; so different from his earlier ones! The pace of the narration is very smooth and seamless, the characters very plausible and not overdone and the plot has a steady progression. I really like David …… he has his faults and failings, but his heart is good. I also really like Peggotty …….. how surprising for me to like a female character of Dickens’ creation!

    Oh, how I dread what I think is going to happen between Little Em’ly and Steerforth. What a tragedy …… I think …….

    Like

  5. I am on page 345 (about half the way), and so far I’m enjoying it. My fave character so far is Tommy Traddles. Who is yours (except David Copperfield who is still developing)?

    Like

    • David and then Peggotty. I also like Mr. Peggotty; so simple yet so real and full of life and joy. David’s aunt is also an unusual and interesting character, gruff yet loving. I haven’t been re-introduced to Tommy Traddles yet.

      Dickens really did a wonderful job with all the characters.

      Like

  6. Have to say I’ve been slack. I just came back from a teacher’s conference in Paris so didn’t read at all. Last week I was getting ahead on NaNoWriMio so read some things but not as much as I would have liked. For the moment I’m on page 50 and enjoying it. Will do some catch up reading this week and finish NaNoWriMo. :/

    Like

  7. After reading the birth scene three times, I finally made it past Chapter One, woo-hoo! I’m currently reading Chapter Eight, in which the young Copperfield returns home for holiday from school. I’m really enjoying it, and it’s not daunting / dreadful at all! Thanks for giving me a motivation to read David Copperfield!

    Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

