Group Check-In #6 – October 2013

What is this? Click to find out.

Hi Clubbers! How’s the reading going? Check in with the group below!

Tell us about your project — or you! Introduce yourself. Chat.

Tell us what you’ve read, how you’re feeling about your progress, how much you love the classics or the community — any struggles, a favorite read so far. Really, whatever you feel like sharing!

Some people prefer writing an update at their own blog and linking it here in the comments. That’s fine, too.

Feel free to respond to one another in the comments below — ask questions, visit each other, tell us you are new to the club, planning to join the club — etc. This is a meet and greet.

If you’re having trouble with your list and need encouragement, say that! That’s understandable. We want new classics readers to join us, so there’s nothing wrong with arriving to this thread with all of the newness showing!

(Please also note the “check-in” feature here is entirely voluntarily, intended for those who like weighing in with others in the group, and having a periodic place to reflect upon goals for the club. For some this feature would feel like an unwanted intrusion. Silent participation in this group is of course welcome!)

Thanks for all of your enthusiasm about this project!

New? Introduce yourself to the group on Twitter using hashtag #ccintroductions @ourclassicsclub. You can also introduce yourself here at the blog. 🙂


Twitter hashtag for reading check-ins: #ccreadingupdate

Note that if you’re on Twitter, you can also tweet your latest classic book reviews to the group using hashtag #ccbookreviews.

14 thoughts on “Group Check-In #6 – October 2013

  1. So far I’ve finished 12 books on my list within half a year, so I’m ahead of schedule. My favourites so far have been Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, Mansfield Park by Jane Austen and The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. Looking forward to read some more classics 😀 Up next is the Decameron by Boccaccio

    Like

  2. I’ve managed to read quite a few classics since joining the club (22), but only 8 of them were on my list!! However my CC appendix is looking very healthy 🙂

    My focus over the next 6 weeks will be Australian classics though.
    I’m hosting AusReading Month during November for anyone who would like to join in by reading their favourite Aussie book or author.
    Introductory post with link to lists, literary awards and books in print start here…
    http://bronasbooks.blogspot.com.au/2013/09/australia-in-print.html
    Hope you can join us
    brona

    Like

  3. I can see that some folks have been at this CC challenge for quite a while. Am about half-way through my first book, Dickens’s David Copperfield. It’s one of the longest on my list so it might be another week or so before I’m able to post a review!

    Like

  4. Within the last two weeks, I have completed 1984 by Orwell and Persuasion by Austen. Last week, I began reading Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison, which is another one of those books that provokes negative emotion, and I decided that I need a break from that. So I started reading Frankenstein by Shelley, and I am really enjoying it.

    Like

  5. I’ve read 14 books from my list in total, and I’m working on numbers 15 and 16: Steinbeck’s East of Eden (a reread) and Austen’s Emma. I’m afraid I’m progressing through Emma quite slowly, but I’m determined to finish it.

    My favorite reads so far have been all the Brontë novels (save The Professor, which I haven’t read yet). Somehow, I managed not to read any of their works before I joined the Club, but now, they’re all pretty much my favorite writers.

    Like

  6. Hi guys! I’m still fairly new to the club, and haven’t published a CC review yet…which I could go a little faster. Anyways, I’m currently re-reading ‘A Study In Scarlet’ by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle for my CC read, as well as some of Nathaniel Hawthorne’s short stories for my highschool lit class. I just checked Frankenstein out from the library, too, and am aching to read it….I read it when I was much younger and loved the way it scared me!

    Stop by my blog to chat! I love to make blogging friends!

    ~Gillian
    youngyankeelady.blogspot.com

    Like

  7. I’ve just hit 50 on my list of about 150! My latest title is also Camus’ “Stranger”–just finished–and I haven’t yet written it up.

    I am about a third of the way through Boleslaw Prus’ great 19th-century Polish novel, “The Doll,” and it is really good. Like many more familiar 19th-century English novels, it has a large cast of characters and covers lots of society and time. Unlike English novels, it takes place (so far) entirely in the city, with no rural scenes, and it has little humor–it has a serious tone and portrays the failure of different brands of idealism in a decaying society.

    I also joined up with the Count of Monte Cristo read-along, so I guess I’ll add it to my CC list. It’s exciting! And much easier to read than I expected.

    I also just finished a really strange book–Meyrink’s “The Golem.” It isn’t actually on my CC list but it is a classic, and a truly bizarre novel. Set in Prague’s Jewish Ghetto at the end of the 19th century, it plays with the legend of the golem, but not as much as I expected–all in all it’s a hallucinatory kind of book. I guess I ought to get blogging–I’m behind!

    http://howlingfrog.blogspot.com/

    Like

  8. I’m reading Walter Farley’s The Island Stallion’s Fury for my Classics Club list, but I’m also working on a much more famous (and worthwhile) book for my college English class–The Stranger by Albert Camus. I’m almost halfway through The Island Stallion’s Fury and it’s so-so, like most of his other books. I’m only a chapter into The Stranger, but I think I’ll like it quite a bit 🙂

    Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

