Sync Read #1: Their Eyes Were Watching God (Half Way!)

Their Eyes Were Watching God

Sync #1 – The Classics Club

April 10 through May 30Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

— # —

All right, clubbers! It’s the halfway point for our first sync read, which is designed to be stress-free and place the focus on reading together, rather than completing assignments. (Unless that’s your thing.)

Are you reading? Weigh in below — chat, leave a link to your post if you wrote something, read quietly if you prefer to keep to yourself but love knowing you’re reading with others, even silently. Weigh in here and say nothing at your blog. Whatever suits your personality.

There is no Mr. Linky below because the point in this feature is to talk together in a central place, and list our blogs if it comes up. (Which is of course welcome.)

Tell us how your reading is going! If you know some background on Hurston you want to share, if you have read the novel before and are redipping with the group, if you feel sentimental about the read for any reason (maybe the book was a family member’s favorite), if you read it in college and want to try it again on your own, if you’ve never read it and don’t know what it’s about but it’s on your list so you’re reading it. If you like it, if you don’t like it, if you forgot to begin the book. Etc.

We’ll toss up our final post on May 30 for the finish. Subscribe to the comments below to follow the discussion.

(No spoilers beyond the halfway point in the book please!) – And it’s no pressure here! Feel free to weigh in in a week or nine months, if you like.

– The Club

(2013 Sync Schedule) / Twitter hashtag: #ccsyncread (so we can group chat!)

5 thoughts on “Sync Read #1: Their Eyes Were Watching God (Half Way!)

  1. I had never heard of this book before but thought I would join in the sync read just for the fun of it. I devoured it in just three sittings – my fourth sitting was going to back to read the introduction in my edition by Zadie Smith.
    I loved it. Janie’s voice was hypnotic, mesmerising and unforgettable.
    I know very little about Zora’s life except for the quick search on wiki.

    When you’re finished reading the book, I’d love you to pop over and read my review 🙂
    http://bronasbooks.blogspot.com.au/2013/04/their-eyes-were-watching-god-by-zora.html

    Like

  2. Pingback: Classics Club: May Meme | Too Fond

  3. I’ve been reading this one slowly, which is nice. I’ve never read it before and didn’t know a lot about the story, so I’m discovering as I go. I’ll probably wait until I finish to do a post about it, but thanks for hosting the sync read–it was the perfect chance for me to make time for a book that’s been on my shelf for far too long.

    Like

  4. I just started the other day (had to wait until the semester ended and all) and I’m really getting into it! This is my first time with it, and I’m finding it to be just beautiful…. I am about half way through and should finish in a day or so.

    Like

  5. I just finished the book yesterday. I wrote about where I was for the May Meme, along with some early thoughts. This is actually my second time reading Their Eyes Were Watching God. I’ve been wanting to read it again and when I saw that it was the sync read I couldn’t resist. I’m so glad to have read it again. It is an amazing novel. I’m working on my post now. I hope to have it up tomorrow or Thursday. I hope everyone loved the book as much as I did.

    Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

