Group Check-In #3 – April 2013

What is this? Click to find out.

Hi Clubbers! How’s the reading going? Check in with the group below!

Tell us about your project — or you! Introduce yourself. Chat.

Tell us what you’ve read, how you’re feeling about your progress, how much you love the classics or the community — any struggles, a favorite read so far. Really, whatever you feel like sharing!

Some people prefer writing an update at their own blog and linking it here in the comments. That’s fine, too.

Feel free to respond to one another in the comments below — ask questions, visit each other, tell us you are new to the club, planning to join the club — etc. This is a meet and greet.

If you’re having trouble with your list and need encouragement, say that! That’s understandable. We want new classics readers to join us, so there’s nothing wrong with arriving to this thread with all of the newness showing!  

(Please also note the “check-in” feature here is entirely voluntarily, intended for those who like weighing in with others in the group, and having a periodic place to reflect upon goals for the club. For some this feature would feel like an unwanted intrusion. Silent participation in this group is of course welcome!)

Thanks for all of your enthusiasm about this project!

New? Introduce yourself to the group on Twitter using hashtag #ccintroductions @ourclassicsclub. You can also introduce yourself here at the blog. ๐Ÿ™‚


Twitter hashtag for reading check-ins: #ccreadingupdate

Note that if you’re on Twitter, you can also tweet your latest classic book reviews to the group using hashtag #ccbookreviews.

38 thoughts on “Group Check-In #3 – April 2013

  1. Pingback: Group Check-In #6 – October 2013 | The Classics Club

  2. I have been too lazy to write up proper reviews for this year, but reading has been not bad. I’ve done Humphrey Clinker by Tobias Smollett, biographies of the Romantic poets and Thomas de Quincey. Posted up stuff on Mansfield Park, the Romantics and the Bronte sisters.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Group Check-In #4 – June 2013 | The Classics Club

  4. April has been a good month for the Classics! I posted a review of On the Road and Cat’s Cradle, and just finished The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley. Right now I’m loving The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles by Haruki Murakami (not sure it’s a classic but it’s on my list). I’ll be traveling most of May so I expect my reading will be a little lighter.

    Like

  5. So far I have finished the three Cormac McCarthy novels in the Border Trilogy, (All the Pretty Horses, The Crossing, and Cities of the Plain). This past weekend I finished Lolita. So I’ve knocked four books off my list since the beginning of the year. I’ve been getting a lot of ARCs and reading recently published books this year, so I probably need to make reading from my classics list a priority, but I still feel good about being able to cross four off my list. I still need to write my reviews, though!

    Like

  6. I just finished reading The Secret Garden and I loved it. It is one of the most beautiful books I’ve read. I really wish I had read it when I was a kid.

    I’m reading The House of Mirth right now and so far I’m really enjoying it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. I’m currently in my Zola phase, and I really enjoy it. It’s been a long time since I read (in French) such beautiful prose, and such an intelligent insight into the problems of that era. Just finished the Kill, on to Nana…

    Like

  8. I have oodles of sympathy with CJ – my list keeps growing also the more I see what other people are reading and take a fancy to their selections. I’ve done pretty well so far this year – not long finished Steinbeck’s Of Mice and Men which I didn’t think I would like since I didn’t take much to other books by him. But I was surprised in a good way. Not sure what I’ll read next – there again, I keep changing my mind…

    Like

  9. My classics reading isn’t going as swimmingly as I’d hoped. I’ve finished The Pilgrim’s Progress and an slogging my way through Gulliver’s Travels. I think the problem is how I’m reading them—notebook on my lap, pen in hand, lots of note-taking. There’s no room for the cat to sit without things falling all over, and writing notes really inhibits the flow of the reading, even if it does help me remember favorite quotes later on (and Swift has some great quotes). Or at least that’s the excuse I’m going with for now.

    I’m reading a fair number of books, just not so many from my list. At this point, my list is growing faster than I’m reading from it. Case in point: I’m planning to re-read Their Eyes Were Watching God for the sync read because I love it, and it’s not on either my main list or my add-on list right now.

    I’ll need to make some changes if I’m going to get through my list in five years!

    Like

  10. Since I joined the CC in January, I’ve read 4 out of my 50 books, so 1 per month so far, which is a good pace for me right now. I’m really happy I joined the CC, it’s motivating me to knock a classic of my list at least once a month! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  11. I put together my list and joined about a month ago. I’m hoping to get at least 10 classics read per year for the next 5 years. My list contains no rereads, as I thought that might be too easy ๐Ÿ™‚ I started a couple of weeks ago with Walden, but I’m feeling a bit bogged down with it at the moment. Maybe it wasn’t the best one to begin with, but I’ve wanted to read it for a long time. It’s not that I’m not enjoying it, but it just seems to be taking more time than I thought it would. I’m looking forward to getting to other books on my list soon and reading other people’s thoughts and reviews.

    Like

  12. I’ve been with the club about 8 mnths and have read 5 books off my 75 book list. I’ve also read 7 classics NOT on my list because I keep reading great reviews for other books from all you guys as well as group activities like the sync reading that hook me in (by the by I’m loving Their Eyes Were Watching God).

    I solved this problem by having an add-on list and I figure if I get read 75 classics in 5 years – on my list or not on my list, I’ve achieved something substantial either way!! I want to read all the books on my list at some point, so I don’t want to remove or replace them. And I love hearing about lots of great books and authors I’ve never heard of or had forgotten about or had simply slipped my mind from everyone else.

    I just wish I had more time to read all your reviews and all my books for this challenge and for my work ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://bronasbooks.blogspot.com.au/p/classics-club.html

    Like

  13. I’ve read the first book off my list last month – James Herbert’s The Ghosts of Sleath – only 49 left. This month I’m planning on reading Dangerous Liaisons by Choderlos de Laclos as I read a good review from one of your bloggers so decided that should be next off the list. I must admit I’m already thinking of changing a couple of books on my list! (Mostly because I was talking to somebody who recommended another couple). But, I don’t think I’ll change for now. Maybe keep them in mind.
    Lynn ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  14. I have read 21 of my 101 books. I read Dicken’s Bleak House last month, which I loved (I think it has taken the top spot as my favorite Dickens so far)…and I just finished reading du Maurier’s Rebecca, which is absolutely fantastic. And frustrating. I was fighting the air by the end of the book. Haha!

    Like

  15. I’ve been having a lovely time! Right now I’m in a slow patch. I’m reading Last of the Mohicans, which is interesting but incredibly wordy. For the first few pages I was just incredulous. It’s this riproaring adventure novel—buried under tons of excessive verbiage. But even though I’m used to it now, I’m making slow progress because I’m spending all my time working frantically on a sewing project for a niece’s birthday–on Friday. eep!

    Like

  16. I am enjoying reading from my Classics list slowly. I alternate between fiction and non-fiction every time I finish a book. It’s nice because it spreads out my Classics but also helps me to stay focused on what I am reading. And I have also been reading some newer titles and doing some re-reads of Lewis’ “Chronicles of Narnia” over the last month or so. Since I joined last year (April 2012), I have read 14 of my 76 Classics listed. I am just getting ready to start Aesop’s Fables and am not sure how it will go. I’m not a big fan of short stories and so I may get frustrated and put it aside for something else. We shall see.

    Like

  17. I’m so far behind on my list – and I love classics so I don’t know why! To many other shiny new distractions, I guess. I’m seriously thinking that instead of trying to read several smaller books during Dewey’s Readathon, I’ll try to just immerse myself in one of the classics. Or maybe finally finish Les Mis!

    Like

  18. whew! I’m still reading Vanity Fair and my list is slow going. Persephone is 10 weeks old as of today and I find I have more time to read as she gets settled and her rambunctious toddler brother, Atticus, gets used to being a big brother. The first few weeks were rough and I slept and played Candy Crush Saga instead of reading. Ha! I’m hoping that by next month I’ll have more to post.

    Like

  19. Hi people! I have 50 books listed to read and haven’t finished any of them yet. I’m still working on The Pickwick Papers–I used to like it but I’m not enjoying it much anymore. I’m also supposed to be reading A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain, but that’s not on my Classics Club list, so. . . . ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  20. Hi all. I’m making pretty ok progress on my list so far. I’ve read 12 of my 60 books, including all of my Joyce titles, and I’m currently powering my way through the last bit of the Divine Comedy, which I’ll finish up by next week. I’ve found that my trouble is actually finding the time and willpower to review the books once I’ve finished them. My read-but-not-reviewed list is starting to mock me. I think I’ll have more time in the summer to both reading and reviewing.

    Like

      • Dante has actually been pretty enjoyable so far. I loved the Inferno and most of the Purgatorio, but I’m definitely finding the Paradiso to be pretty slow. I have to read it for a class though, so I have pretty good motivation to finish it on time (aka: by Friday).

        Like

  21. I’ve finally decided to tackle Les Miserables. Not to page 100 yet. So obviously slow start. I haven’t watched the musical, but I’m wondering if I should just to get into this book more. Any suggestions? If you have read it, what did you think of it?

    Like

    • I haven’t read Les Miserables yet, but I find that with long books like that it helps me to make a character web, with all their names and relationships and whatnot on it. It really helps me keep the characters straight, especially at the beginning when I don’t know them well enough to remember their names yet. Also, it definitely can’t hurt to watch the musical version or a movie version.

      Like

  22. Greetings! I read a lot of short story classics and blog about them every Tuesday and include a link to the free online story. http://paulacappa.wordpress.com/ . This past week I featured DeMaupassant’s Was It A Dream? This week I’ll be featuring a short story by Henry James to celebrate his birth date April 15. Also, May is National Short Story Month. I don’t think a lot of readers are aware of it since it’s only newly declared in the last couple of years. But short stories are great way to discover classic authors.

    Debbie, I’m dying to read Moonstone by Collins. Can you give us a quick review of it? I found Austen’s Sense and Sensibility to be the most interesting read.

    Like

  23. Coming up to my first year and I’m reaching my goal of ten classics a year. Started my tenth, Moonstone by Wikie Collins, and nearly done with Dante’s The Divine Comedy. The latter is hard work. I’ve read half and am listening to the rest. Is that cheating.

    I’m planning to read all my Austen books come June. Never read her books. What order would you suggest I read them? Or should I close my eyes and point at a book?

    Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

