Today is the day! Did you finish your spin book?

Click for details about the Spin.

All right, clubbers! Back in early February, we announced The Classics Spin #5, challenging you to read Book #20 on your spin list by April 2. Today is April 2!

Did you read your book? Did you write about it, or will you?

What was your book, and what did you think? Share below. Feel free to link to your post below, as and when you write about your book.

As always, the prize is the reading experience. Details here.

Twitter hashtag: #ccspin

- the Club

38 thoughts on “Today is the day! Did you finish your spin book?

  1. BookerTalk April 6, 2014 / 11:50 am

    I finished it with a week to spare and loved it – Emile Zola’s L’Assommoir. Absolutely brilliant book. Just haven’t got around to reviewing yet

    Like

  2. curlygeek04 April 6, 2014 / 9:51 am

    I finished the book (Trumpeter of Krakow) April 3 but haven’t reviewed it yet. I’m just a teensy bit past the deadline! It’s a children’s book so really I have no excuse.

    Like

  3. wcs53 April 4, 2014 / 8:57 pm

    I finished my book with a few days to spare, but haven’t got the review up yet. I had to read Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson. It was quite enjoyable, but not as good as Treasure Island.

    Like

  4. thetruebookaddict April 4, 2014 / 2:33 am

    Yes! I finally finished a spin book! Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys. Have not reviewed it on my blog, but did give a starred review on Goodreads here: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/851474777
    This book truly gave another side of Jane Eyre’s Mr. Rochester. Not feeling quite as sympathetic toward him as I did previously.

    Looking forward to the next spin!

    Like

  5. Cleo @ Classical Carousel April 3, 2014 / 4:16 pm

    I can’t believe it! After thinking that there was no way that I could make the deadline, I not only made it, but beat it. It makes me feel so much better because I still haven’t read my last spin book. In fact, I also finished Plethora’s spin book too, so that’s two done.

    Here is my review of The Seven Storey Mountain

    Like

  6. hans kastorp April 2, 2014 / 5:58 pm

    I am new on this site, but I am passionate reader, today I read Faust, few weeks ago I read Ulysses.Greetings.

    Like

  7. lindylit April 2, 2014 / 2:40 pm

    I’m so close to finishing! Unfortunately end of term craziness has seriously cut into my reading time so I’m aiming for the weekend instead!

    Like

    • Sophia April 2, 2014 / 2:08 pm

      Oh, I have that book on my shelf – unread as yet. I’ve never read anything by Gaskell, so I’m a bit hesitant…

      Like

      • Jen April 2, 2014 / 6:31 pm

        Don’t be! Although I’d start with “North and South” first if I were you. I love “Wives and Daughters” but it’s really long and much more of a commitment. Whatever you choose, I hope you like her work – I particularly love all of the characters in her books.

        Like

        • Sophia April 2, 2014 / 8:06 pm

          Thanks for the recommendation. I’ll tack it onto my summer TBR!

          Like

  8. nerdybookgirl April 2, 2014 / 9:33 am

    DNF. Sigh. I meant to, but I *hated* Emma the first time I read it and I was all caught up into loving Trollope and I totally didn’t finish. Correction, I didn’t even start!!!

    Like

    • jessicabookworm April 2, 2014 / 9:17 am

      Sorry! By Jules Vernes I’ve got Dumas on the mind after watching The Musketeers.

      Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

