Twelve Months of Classic Literature

The Classics Club Lucky SPIN number!

Click for details about the Spin.

We promised you a spin number this morning, and here it is! Your Spin Number is -

14.

If you joined the game last week, find number 14 on your Spin List! That’s the title you are challenged to read by April 1, 2013. We’ll toss a post up on April 1 to see who completed the game.

As always, the prize is the reading experience. Details here.

In case anyone asks — it would be awesome if everyone posted about their Spin book on April 1. But that’s not mandatory or anything. If you want to, though, have at it! :)

Check in below if you played. What’s your #14 title? Are you glad, hesitant, excited about your title? Do tell!

Twitter hashtag: #ccspin

- the Club

138 thoughts on “The Classics Club Lucky SPIN number!”

  1. I just saw this spin now but I wanted to join in (I thought I’d change the date it should be read by to April 18 since I’m so late getting in on the challenge-I hope that’s okay!). I made my list (without cheating and glancing at the spin number, I swear!) and my book is Out of Africa by Isak Dinesen, a neutral book for me.

    Like

  2. I was very apprehensive about my title – Wings of the Dove by Henry James, clocking in at over 700 pages long. But I’ve already finished. Thanks for the motivation to tackle this one! I want to play Classics Spin again!

    Like

  3. Well, I will be reading A Streetcar Named Desire by T. Williams. I am happy to finally read it because all of my students read it their junior year. Of course, I told them I would be reading it this month, and they assured me I would enjoy it.

    Like

    1. I loved reading Streetcar for my American Lit class. I even bought a copy for myself when I saw one at a used bookstore, and I never buy plays. I really hope you enjoy it.

      Like

  4. I’ll be reading Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams. I’ve read the sequel, and I really liked it. This was on my “neutral” list, simply because it’s not a new, exciting discovery process. I already know what Dirk is about. BUT if it’s anything like the second book, it’ll be smart, funny, and a quick read, so I have a chance in hell of finishing by April 1st!
    http://reading-in-bed.com/2013/02/17/the-classics-spin/

    Like

  5. Madam Bovary….My sister has been trying to give it a shot again! But I need courage for this one….But I will conqurer!! (hope!!!!)

    Like

Comments are set for 50 per page, with the newest comment at the front of the line. Feel free to explore and chat! :-)

